Confession Friday

I can’t tell when white men are flirting with me!

I can never tell when white men are flirting with me. For some reason I think they are just being white.. lol.. I mean nice.. Does that make sense? I mean, shit, to me it does. The only way I can tell is if I am in the Whole Foods or Trader Joes and they approach me in the frozen section and say hello with big doe eyes.

I had a good friend named *Joe in college. We always hung out. We babysat his biracial niece and nephew that everyone thought were our kids. Went out drinking together. Climbed fences to go skinny dipping at the beach together (what a fucking dead giveaway). Last year a friend my friend Trace asked me how Joe was and if he was still in love with me. I asked her what she was talking about and she replied with:

Come one Kris, everyone knew he was in love with you…

So I decided to call him. We have always been close and I wanted to tell him what Trace said.  I call him and tell him and he laughs and says it is true. He reminded me that when we met sophomore year in college he asked me out to the movies and when we went, I just walked in front of him and paid for myself and friendzoned him right away. I told him that I assumed we were friends only… He then said:

If I were black and I asked you to the movies, would you think I just wanted to be your bff?

I sat back and realized he was right. I friendzoned him immediately. So… If you are a white guy and I friendzoned you, I am sorry, I just thought you were being white 😦 .. Me love you long time.

7 thoughts on “Confession Friday

  1. Yo, I have the same “affliction”. When I was in college (at a HBCU) I shared a house with 3 white college students at neighboring schools, 2 of them were male. I never thought twice of the advances of one of my roommates, it just never entered my head that a white guy would like me. I didn’t know until I ran into him years later and he informed me that he was crushing on me hard. Who knew? I guess I was used to the bold and crassness of my schoolmates that I couldn’t recognize subtle game.

  2. I appreciate your honesty Kristina. I am a white man. I would like to know what I can do to be more transparent in my intentions. That probably sounds lame but my style does tend to be more subtle. If you have the time let me know what you think I can do to be clear with my intentions.

Leave a Reply

